Wednesday, July 22, 2009

BPEL Editor for RiftSaw

As many of you saw in Burr's webinar presentations today, we are planning on leveraging the Eclipse BPEL editor for use with the RiftSaw runtime. Consistent with JBoss practice, this editor will be distributed at part of JBoss Tools. I'd encourage those interested to visit the JBT site and make use of their downloads, forums, mailing lists, JIRA, etc. to participate in the open source community around this part of our BPEL offerings. Doing so will make sure that all involved see any questions or comments.

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Webinar: Simple, Open and Affordable BPEL

As more and more organizations are leveraging BPEL to specify orchestration of Web services, there is a growing need for a simple, open and affordable implementation.

In this session, you learn how Red Hat plans to deliver an enterprise-class, supported, open source BPEL engine as part of the JBoss Enterprise Middleware portfolio. You also learn how to leverage this technology to help your organization fulfill the promise SOA and have an opportunity to interact with the key engineers behind the product.

Date: July 22, 2009
Time: Choose from two live sessions:
- 9am EDT (New York) / 13:00 GMT / 3pm CEST (Paris)
- 2pm EDT (New York) / 18:00 GMT / 8pm CEST (Paris)

Speaker: Burr Sutter

Register Now

Here is link to the slides.

JBoss BPEL Server

Project Riftsaw is a WS-BPEL 2.0 engine that is optimized for the JBoss Application Server container. WS-BPEL 2.0 is an XML-based language for defining business processes that orchestrate web services.

Riftsaw supports :
  • short-lived and long-running process executions
  • process persistence & recovery
  • process versioning
  • JBoss deployment architecture, enabling hot deployment
  • ant-based deployment
  • integrated with the JBoss ESB
  • Eclipse-based designer (Bundled with JBoss Tools 3.1)
Riftsaw is based on Apache Ode and will extend Ode in the following ways:
  • Tight integration with Eclipse BPEL editor
  • Support for JBossWS, and therefore the three web service stacks (Native, Apache CXF and Metro)
  • Enterprise quality management console
  • Runs in JBoss Cluster
We welcome your input and involvement. Please get started as an end-user by downloading these items, read the getting started guide and provide feedback in the forums. If you are interested in becoming a contributor to this new and exciting project please use the developer forums to contact us.